Steak and Mushroom Pie

A while ago, I made my first trip to Australia to visit some friends. We did the usual koala picture-taking, hiking, visits to museums and parks. Visiting Australia doesn’t quite seem like being in a foreign land, partly because there is no foreign language to fumble through and all signs are in English. The food too is not a great departure from what I get at home. What I did fall in love with were their pies. Absolutely loved them. So on my return home, I decided to try my hand at making some.

I got the recipe from BBC’s Good Food website. The recipe called for ale but I omitted that and replaced with more broth. Tasted good enough without it so I won’t know what I’m missing!

IMG_20150530_142719
Browning the beef cubes. The most important part, they tell me and not one to be rushed.
IMG_20150530_142801
Mushrooms and carrots waiting their turns while the beef browns. I was very good this time. I prepared everything in advance instead of flying around the kitchen trying to do everything at the same time as I usually do

IMG_20150530_143631

IMG_20150530_143927

IMG_20150530_144059
Saute the onions and carrots
IMG_20150530_153532
The mushrooms are fried with the bacon and added to the stew just before it’s popped into the pie case and then the oven
IMG_20150530_161929
The filling or stew with the luscious home made broth. Divine.
IMG_20150531_120722
Make sure you flour the pie dish generously
IMG_20150531_123550
In goes the filling
IMG_20150531_124841
🙂
IMG_20150531_135300
Tadaah! I know it’s all wonky but quite an achievement for me!

 

Can I confess that I cheated on the pastry? There, I have. I wanted short crust. I love short crust but I am simply not a pastry person. And with all those ready made vegan ones available in the market, why would I slave through knead-fold-refrigerate cycles again? I do realise the irony of writing “vegan” there when I’m talking about beef pie. I meant that there are options when making desserts for my vego friends.

What I also did differently was to cook the stew in my pressure cooker to cut down the cooking time and to make the meat soft and succulent. I let it cook for about 30 minutes after pressure was reached. I did have to thicken the stew afterwards with a corn flour slurry as pressure cooking retains the fluids unlike normal simmering.

The verdict:

This was a special request from my sister (“When are you making that pie for us?”). The family loved it. Eat warmed up with some gravy and mash.

Leave a Reply

