Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Frosting

The first cupcakes I made in my new kitchen were vanilla cupcakes. I did the usual online research (the internet is a wealth of information that I wonder sometimes why people spend money on cookbooks) and found this recipe from The Cupcake Project. I must say, I absolutely love them and they are my go to recipe for vanilla cupcakes. They always come out perfect. Moist with a cake-like consistency.

The frosting… Well, the world is your oyster really. Knock yourself out with any flavour you fancy. I made strawberry and raspberry cream frosting this time but have frosted these cupcakes with everything from chocolate to peanut butter to lemon curd. I can’t remember where I got the recipe for the cream frosting so I can’t put a link but here is the recipe in full. Gratitude to whichever website/ blog I got this from. I did a search and just could not find you so if you read this, please own up. I take zero credit.

Strawberry Cream Frosting

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1/2 package (4 oz) cream cheese at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

4-5 strawberries (or raspberries or whatever fruit you have in mind), frozen or fresh

Method

  • Using an electric beater, or by hand, whip the whipping cream until it reaches a soft peak and set aside.
  • Using an electric mixer, beat together the butter and cream cheese until it is fluffy and well combined. Having the cream cheese at room temperature will prevent any lumps in the mixture.
  • Add the icing sugar and the vanilla to the butter and cream cheese and beat well.
  • Using a small food processor or immersion blender, or even just a very sturdy spoon, puree the strawberries until you have approximately 3 tbsp of juice.
  • Add the strawberry puree to the butter mixture and mix well.
  • Gently fold in the whip cream into the frosting.
  • Using a piping bag, frost the cupcakes with a large tip.

Store in the fridge, removing approximately 20 minutes before serving to allow the cake to come back to room temperature.

IMG_00000346
I love taking photos of the frosting in progress because it looks so irresistably fluffy! So please, bear with me.

 

IMG_00000347
Beautiful, aren’t they? I should have taken photos of my earlier wobbly work so you can appreciate that I have really come a long long way!
IMG_20141026_101359
This batch, I thought it would be an excellent idea to pop some raspberries on them. Then I realised they resembled boobs. My male friends appreciated them though.
Don’t believe me? Here’s one from a different angle (pardon the lighting)

 

The Verdict: The cream frosting is lovely and light with a hint of fruit. Perfect with vanilla cupcakes but probably even better with chocolate ones. Will try that very soon. A very refreshing dessert.

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes with Strawberry Cream Frosting

Leave a Reply

