Carrot Cupcakes

Carrot cake was the first thing I baked in my life.

I think. Or was it banana cake?

I was a student away from home for the first time and the kitchen held so much promise. And trepidation. Cooking was a lot cheaper than eating out, let me tell you. I got the recipe off a classmate and it turned out ok and I rejoiced. I have since lost that recipe but found this one on the net. Just the cake recipe, mind you. The cream cheese frosting was from my go to recipe.

I find that as I grow older (I refuse to say mature), my tastes have changed. When before I would have avoided them like the plague, these days I love my carrot cake with plenty of chunky nuts. It adds a very interesting texture to the cake. So delicious too.

IMG_20141005_145141
Can’t quite see the nuts but they’re there. Trust me

IMG_20141005_150657

Always one rebel in every bunch

IMG_20141005_162605

Perfect rosettes. Not so perfect photography.

IMG_20140921_151548
That’s better

 

The verdict: Top pick of my friends and family. The cream cheese frosting is a winner and goes so perfectly with the spicy nut-filled carrot cake.

 

Leave a Reply

