Chicken Tandoori

 

I’m on an Indian food streak. Last night, I made a tandoori marinade. Yes, that’s right. From scratch. Not like the old student days where a bottle of Patak’s Tandoori Masala was considered “authentic”. I’ve matured, you see. More discerning tastes now. Plus, it will help me use up the trolley-full of spices I bought last week before this Indian food streak runs out of steam.

I’ve been doing some research on the internet and have been obsessively watching how-to videos. I love the way the chefs use the Tamil/Hindu terms for the spices. I especially like the way they call the spice mix masala. As if it’s some sort of a magic word. I swear it must be. Everything always looks so delicious on these videos!

IMG_20150425_200327
Here’s the chicken after the spice rub, a blend of chilli powder, salt and lemon juice. The smell of the rub alone was divine.

 

IMG_20150425_201625
The marinade consisted of yoghurt, chilli powder, pepper, cumin, garam masala, turmeric, vinegar and lime juice. Magic, I tell you!

IMG_20150425_201814IMG_20150426_144717

I left the chicken to marinate overnight. The next day, I arranged them on a foil-lined baking tray and baked them in the oven at 200 degrees Celcius.

IMG_20150426_152410
Baked for 25 minutes. I turned the chicken in the final 5 minutes.

The recipe called for a shallow fry after the baking but I decided it was healthier without.

You can find the recipe at:

http://www.spicytasty.com/meat-and-seafood-entrees/tandoori-chicken/

I followed the recipe to the letter except for the red food colouring for the marinade (if it doesn’t add anything to the flavour, it’s out) and the shallow frying at the end.

The verdict: Tender, flavourful chicken. I ate it with basmati rice. It was absolutely wonderful. A bit on the spicy side (which I love), enough to put hair on your chest but would require some tweaking for the chilli-challenged. Definitely something I would do again very soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

