Lemon Curd Cheesecake

I have recently discovered lemon curd.

I know. Where have I been. Well better late than never. I’m firmly on the bandwagon. How easy is it to make? I mean, I always thought people who made jams and curd were especially gifted. Turns out, not so. Because I can make it too! No offence.

It was a suggestion by a senior colleague for my weekend project. “The weather is so warm these days. Why not make a refreshing lemon cheesecake?”

Brilliant idea. Only why stop at New York style cheesecake when you can tart it up with some zingy lemon curd?

I once made some lemon curd-filled pound cupcakes. They were OK. Could have used more lemon curd filling (I was too cautious when making the holes in the cupcakes) and the cream frosting just didn’t do it for me. But this baby. This one is the business.

IMG_20150322_170443
I love this shade of yellow. Although it disturbs me deeply that the cupcakes are not perfectly aligned.
What a difference a sliver of lemon makes to the presentation, don't you think?
What a difference a sliver of lemon makes to the presentation, don’t you think?

 

Here’s the link to the recipe:

http://www.joyofbaking.com/LemonCheesecakes.html

This was a perfect blend of fresh tangy lemon curd with decadent cheesecake. Removes a little guilt somewhat, if you’re the type that feels guilty about eating cheesecakes. Yeah, that’s right. I’m looking at you, ladies at work. Me, I eat with abandon, as should we all.

We don’t have graham crackers here but we do just as well with digestive biscuits. All other ingredients should be easy enough to find. A tool you should not dispense with is the candy thermometer. Absolutely imperative for safe preparation of curd.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

