Blueberry Muffins with Streusel Topping

I’ve always made cupcakes.

What’s the difference? Muffins, cupcakes. I’ve read that muffins are more bread-y and cupcakes are more cake-y. Muffins have that characteristic top which resembles my waistline while cupcakes stop just at the top of the cupcake liner like my cleavage. Cupakes also often have overly sweet frivolous frosting which the dignified muffin will have nothing to do with. Muffins are eaten for breakfast and cupcakes for dessert. Who makes these stupid rules?

Anyway, like I said. I’ve always made cupcakes. In my initial foray into baking, I always made cakes. Proper cakes you cut into slices. But I find that cupcakes are so much easier in terms of washing up after a project and also when serving. Everyone gets their share neatly packaged in a liner. Liners are another delight altogether. Part of why I love to make cupcakes. Or muffins. Puh-tay-ta, po-tah-toe. Whatever.

Dredging the blueberries in flour to prevent them from bleeding
Dredging the blueberries in flour to prevent them from bleeding. How gorgeous are these blueberries?
Blueberries having a leisurely soak in the batter
Blueberries having a leisurely soak in the batter
Sauna time!
Sauna time!
This is my food magazine shot
This is my foodie magazine shot

 

IMG_20150405_124138
Checking to see if the blueberries had shed their royal blood. Nope. Flour tip works.
IMG_20150405_094050
Streusel crumbs

 

Although the blueberry muffins were delicious on their own, the winning part of this recipe was the streusel topping. It gave the perfect amount of sweetness to the whole ensemble.

Aah... this is what a hardworking pan looks like

This is the link to the recipe:

http://omgchocolatedesserts.com/blueberry-muffins-streusel-crumb/

The verdict: A delicious classic.

Leave a Reply

