Facing your fears: Buy a pressure cooker!

It all began with an online search for the secret to cooking the most tender beef ever. Well actually, it all began with the toughest, most chewy beef stroganoff ever. My masseters are quite impressive now. Wish my arms and abs were as toned.

Anyway, as we all know, most online searches usually start at one place and end up in some obscure yet fascinating location. Not so this time, my friends. I stayed true to the goal. From the egg white-baking soda slurry marinade the Chinese restaurants use to slow cookers that cook all day and, ultimately, to the time- and energy-saving, pressure cookers. Or PC for short. That’s how us converts refer to this amazing kitchen must-have.

I am not worthy
I am not worthy

Fissler. The BMW of pressure cookers. Well, it almost cost as much. Although, to be fair, that’s how they describe WMF PCs too. PC converts are such snobs.

I will fit right in.

Luckily, it was on offer and I got it at 30% discount. And I got a free glass lid. It was a toss up between that or a steam insert. Although at first I wished I had gone for the steam insert, I realise I could substitute it for any old steamer basket so I guess I made the right choice.

There are a lot of PCs out there with a wide price range, from a Honda (no offence, I drive one) to a, well, BMW. But the experts advice, in order to prevent any kitchen mishaps (we’ve all heard the stories), invest in a decent brand. My justification for this purchase (I know. Since when have I needed justification?) was that this will be a lifetime investment. My lifetime, not the pressure cooker’s.

I also resolve to use it every weekend for exciting PC projects.

I knew that glass lid would come in handy, if only for a photo op
I knew that sexy glass lid would come in handy, if only for a photo op

Here’s the link to the recipe:

http://www.food.com/recipe/moms-beef-stew-pressure-cooker-190464

I packed them in individual single meal tubs for dad
I packed them in individual single meal tubs for dad
... and in a big tupperware for everyone else
… and in a big tupperware for everyone else

The verdict:

Tender succulent beef while the carrots and potatoes held their individual form and consistency. The leaks were decimated to mushiness, though. Needed tweaking (I started with low salt for dad) but very very good.

Leave a Reply

