Orange-Cranberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

I had some leftover frozen cranberries from  a cupcake project weeks ago. Chocolate and cranberry cupcakes. Meh. I had visions of rich Black Forest-esque flavours but the cupcakes fell short.

This wish to use up leftovers was not borne out of austerity. Rather, it was driven by a desperate need to clear up space in my freezer. To make way for home made chicken stock I made in my brand spanking new Fissler pressure cooker – a story that deserves its own post so I’ll bore you another time. Promise.

A visual search in Pinterest (don’t you just love Pinterest?) yielded this find: Orange-Cranberry Cheesecake. OK, it also yielded a lot of Orange Cranberry scones but scones are too intimidating for me. For now.

IMG_20150419_185540

Here’s the link to the recipe:

http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/individual-cheesecakes-with-orange-cranberry-sauce/

I was a little distracted. Multitasking. Spice drawer organisation project (another post), moving the sprinklers, Hay Day. Oven temperature was all over the place so it’s a wonder they turned out at all.

The sauce was not as thick as I thought it would be so I scooped the fruit (and a tiny bit of juice) onto the cheesecakes and saved the gorgeous sauce for another project.

IMG_20150419_100104
Whipped this up in less than 10 minutes just before I popped out to the shops
Cooling
Cooling
My new matching baby spatula
See my new matching baby spatula?
This one's for the fool who's watching her waist
This one’s for the poor fool who’s watching her waist
The cranberries were only enough for two thirds of the recipe. What can I say? I guess this one will have to be sacrificed to the all-too-deserving chef
The cranberries were only enough for two thirds of the recipe. What can I say? I guess this one will have to be sacrificed to the all-too-deserving chef

Haven’t tasted them yet. Will let them set in the fridge overnight and give my verdict tomorrow!

Update: I never got to taste these! Everyone had seconds so I assume it was acceptable : D

 

Leave a Reply

